The Latest From Mars

We haven’t written a proper news update in a while, but those who follow the A Thousand Torches tumblelog, twitter and facebook know that plenty has been happening within thefamily3.

3 - Loving the live room!

Gartdrumm's set-up in Applehead Recording & Production's Live Room

The band 3 sure has been busy!  They’re hard at work on their 7th record (4th on Metal Blade) which they have not yet shared a title for.  We can gather from their facebook updates and tweets that the recording phase is moving along quite smoothly.  Gartdrumm has finished cutting his drum tracks!  Their location is pretty special because original bassist, Chris Bittner, and first co-manager, Michael Birnbaum, are engineering and producing this album.  The Eppards have a deep history with Applehead Recording & Production.  Jimmy Eppard (Joey and Josh’s dad, musician and initial manager of 3) helped transform the former barn into a world-class recording studio…  from the archetypal design, to physically building the individual rooms.  Uncle John The Baker helped out with the construction as well.  Some of 3’s debut record, Paint By Number, was recorded there.  Coheed and Cambria’s first three albums were recorded and produced at Applehead as well.  Both Weerd Science albums were worked on by CJB and Mike Boom at Applehead too.

While in the recording process 3 hasn’t been performing often, however, they did battle-test about 7 new songs at their Bearsville Theater concert on August 28th.  3 returned to the stage of Bearsville Theater on September 19th for the first annual Jason Foster Project Tribute Concert (which raised $3,000 for the Road Recovery foundation).  In honor of their late bandmate, Chris Bittner and Josh Eppard reunited with Joey Eppard for a few songs as the original 3.

Gartdrumm and Joe Stote outside Bearsville Theater

Gartdrumm and Joe Stote outside Bearsville Theater

Some more familiar faces who rejoined forces to pay tribute to former bandmate Jason Foster were those of PEACEBOMB: Dan McBride, Joe Cuchelo, Gartdrumm, and Joe Stote (where’s Max?).  aKt is on the lookout for info about the official recording of the event.  Peacebomb now has a fan page on facebook.  Could this mean more shows in the future?

One thing is for sure, Gartdrumm is continuing to rock the region with bassist Alana Orr (The Duchess of Funk) aka Orchid via their power-duo Gartdrumm/Orchid.  Sometimes Joey Eppard joins the funky twosome to bring back some classic 3 tunes (like “Life’s Not Fair”) forming EGO.  You Film EGO! Video Shoot concert posterThe trio is performing twice this weekend.  Friday, October 1st at Oasis Sports Bar & Grill (at the Red Carpet Inn) in Coxackie, NY.  On Saturday, October 2nd they are inviting all to come see them perform at The Colony Cafe in Woodstock and film the performance…  on any medium…  to be spliced together for a DVD in honor of the Woodstock Film Festival.

Joey Eppard is still performing solo gigs as well.  The best place to keep up with his schedule is currently his facebook page.

The Sleeping - The Big DeepBack to Applehead for a moment…  a few months ago The Sleeping recorded their fourth full-length record, The Big Deep, with CJB and Mike Birnbaum at the Woodstock studio (the record is named after a local swimming hole the band frequented during their two month session).  The Sleeping had also recorded their 2004 debut and 2006 follow-up with the Ill-Air production duo.  Jared Colby engineered on the record.  The Big Deep was released on Victory Records September 28th.  Vocalist, Doug Robinson, sat with Alternative Press Magazine and fleshed out the lyrical meanings behind every song on the album in the article, Track By Track: The Sleeping.

Emily Long outside Applehead StudioMichael Birmbaum and Chris Bittner with Jared Colby also recorded the second Emily Long full-length album this summer.  The record will be out on Emily’s own Tiger Blanket Records soon.  A Thousand Torches is staked out, waiting for details.

photo from Terrible Things music video shoot by Ryan RussellTerrible Things released their debut record, Terrible Things, on Universal-Motown Records August 31st.  They’re embarking on Mae’s final tour throughout the US this month with Brian Weaver on bass.  The single, “Revolution” has been released to radio (request it on your local rock station!) and this week they filmed a music video featuring the children from the album cover (Fred Mascherino’s eldest daughter and son).

Speaking of music videos, Nightmares For A Week just filmed one!  It’s a song off their forthcoming debut LP Don’t Die.  There’s no word yet on a release date, but it will be out on Academy Fight Song Records.  The music video is being directed by the same guy who did Weerd Science’s “Conspiracy Theories w/Out Mel Gibson” and judging from the production stills, shares the location as well.  The Evolving Media Network dudes are visionaries.  This video should be great!  NFAW has some shows coming up with The Ataris in Kingston and Albany and will be performing at The Fest in Gainesville, Florida Halloween weekend.

Weerd Science has actually shown some activity recently too.  He collaborated with MC Lars on a song for the upcoming Lars Attacks album!  The track was produced by DJ Dirty Ern at Mazeman Studio.

Mazeman and Dirty Ern put up a collection of unreleased songs for free download!  Some of the tunes feature Weerd Science, David “Wavis” Parker and Anthony Masington.  Choose your format (mp3, FLAC, whatever!) at Dirty Ern’s bandcamp page.

A third song from Anthony Masington, David Parker and Josh Eppard’s project, Mours, is now floating around.  Dubbed, “Authentically Desperate” the demo can be heard on a youtube video.

Dave Parker joined Middletown’s The City Never Sleeps on bass guitar.

The Flatline Symphony (which features Anthony Masington on vocals) released their single, “Cross The Vulture” across the web on iTunes, Amazon, etc. September 22nd.  The Delaware Valley band is returning to Oceanic Recording to finish recording their debut EP, This Is What They Call Surgery with Will Donnelly and Taylor Larson in a little over a week.

Also on September 22nd AntMas released the debut EP from his project, A Scream For The Memory, Pop! Goes The No-Wave.  The 8-song collection features one written by Neesh and artwork by Nathan Rosenquist.

A Thousand Torches is getting closer to our fundraising goal!  Thanks to Smurff311, Leimy, The Markness, Panda, Conrad, theThreefanatic, & John The Baker we’re 58% of the way to hosting our own community forum (The Campsite) and exclusive thefamily3 media!  To donate to the cause and bring our dream into reality, please click here.

  • 3 in-studio video: Billy cutting guitars for “One With the Sun”
  • 3 in-studio video: Gartdrumm and Billy working on “The Barrier”
  • 3 in-studio video: Billy working on “Sparrow”
  • PEACEBOMB reunion: “The Evil’s Of Man”
  • PEACEBOMB reunion: “Feed The Artist”
  • PEACEBOMB reunion: “Rubber”
  • EGO: “Life’s Not Fair”
  • The Sleeping in-studio video
  • The Sleeping in-studio video: The Big Deep
  • Weerd Science music video: “Conspiracy Theories w/Out Mel Gibson” (White Room Edit)
  • MC Lars Podcast: Writing with Weerd Science
  • Mours – “Authentically Desperate” (demo)
  • The City Never Sleeps music video: “Hello Vice”
Bookmark the permalink.